REVIEW: ‘Every Day’ by David Levithan

Every Day by David Levithan

Title: Every Day
Author: David Levithan
Published: August 28th 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 322
Rating:

Plot
A wakes up in a different body every day. But at the same time, he knows he is the same person every day. His thoughts and knowledge stay, only the package changes. Notice that I refer to A is ‘he’, but actually he has no gender. He is both in the bodies of men and women, and A just is. The first thing he does when he wakes up is accessing the memories of the person’s body he is in, to find out the basic things, like his name and where his school is. He tries to interfere is little as possible in people’s lives, and make no permanent changes. He does quite well at this, until one day he wakes up in Justin’s body. Justin is your typical douchebag guy. He smokes, plays a lot of videogames and has a girlfriend that he takes for granted and he does not actually love her. But when A meets Justin’s girlfriend, named Rhiannon, he falls in love with her. A decides to make an exception to his rule to never interfere in people’s lives and goes on an amazing date with Rhiannon. He realizes that he wants to be with her every day of his life. But that is impossible, because he is in another body every day. How is A going to figure this out?

What I liked about the book
The concept of being in a different body every day was something that I found really interesting and David Levithan developed this idea really well. It makes the love story between A and Rhiannon really interesting, and it made me think about the importance of appearance. Appearance is the first thing we notice about people, but it often says so little about the people inside. But the changing of the bodies also made me see all the different kinds of people there are, and all the problems these people have. In the 40 days of the life of A that are shown in this book, A has been all different kinds of persons. Men and women, all with their own problems. One day A was a suicidal girl, the other day a very fat boy, and another day A is a drug addict. But despite the fact that A is in another body every day, A is still the same person every day. A has such a strong character, and because he has seen so many different lives, he is full of respect for every person and has so much knowledge about life.
Another thing I liked about this book is the poetic writing style of David Levithan. He describes the bodies and lives of the people A is in for that day so beautifully, that I instantly love or hate that character. His writing style also results in some amazing quotes. One of my favourites is: “The joy is in remembering; the pain is in knowing it was yesterday”.
The ending of this book was also perfect. I am not going to spoil anything, I am just saying that for me it could not have ended any other way.

What I did not like about the book
There is one part of the storyline that I did not particularly enjoy. It was the story of Nathan, a boy whose body A was in for a day. Usually, A is in bed before midnight, because that is when he switches to another body. But when he was in Nathan’s body, he wasn’t home in time so Nathan got back in his own body while he was in his car at the side of the road. He does not really remember how he has gotten there, and he claims he had been possessed by the devil. And because A forgot to clear the history of Nathan’s computer, Nathan is able to find out A’s email address and starts asking for explanations about what happened to him. I didn’t really like this part, because I thought Nathan was annoying, and I didn’t want him to know about who A is. He didn’t deserve to know. Only people who care about A are supposed to know, in my opinion. But even though I did not like this part, I understood that it was important because it answered some of my questions I had about A’s life. For example, I wondered what happened to the ‘soul’ of the body A was in that day. Would this person remember what had happened to him? And another question was if there was a possibility to stay in one body. This question was also answered by Nathan’s storyline. I didn’t enjoy reading about this storyline, but I understand its importance.

Would I recommend this book?
I would recommend this book to people that enjoy contemporary romance. This is definitely a love story, but it is not a cliché one. It is beautifully written and it has an original point of view. But even though it is original, I still think you have to enjoy contemporary romance books in order to like this book. If you don’t like any other contemporary romance books, I would not recommend this, because I don’t think you would enjoy this. But if you are looking for a contemporary romance book because you haven’t read much and you want to try one, this is the book for you!

Rating

Have your read this book? What did you think about it?

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: ‘Every Day’ by David Levithan

  1. Pingback: WRAP UP: November 2013 | She blogs about books
  2. Pingback: FRIDAY’S FIVE: Favorite Contemporary Books | She blogs about books

Leave a Reply

