BOOK HAUL #1: Dutch book sale ‘Het Boekenfestijn’

001

I have been super busy studying, and college is taking way more time than I like. But I have found some time to go bookshopping with my father. He is also a big reader, and he introduced me to the magical world of books when I was younger. We went to a big, Dutch, book sale called ‘Het Boekenfestijn’. This is a big event in a hall with tables and tables full of books, both Dutch and English. Initially I only wanted to buy English books, but I saw some amazing Dutch books as well which I just couldn’t leave behind. I bought a total of 9 books for only €46,20 which is extremely cheap for Dutch standards. In the Netherlands you easily pay about €20 for a new book. Now let me show you the books I bought:

002
The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I went to this book sale with the thought that they might have the Hunger Games in the back of my head. I have already read these books  on my e-reader, but I love them so much that I wanted to have physical copies. When I walked into the halls with books, the first tables displayed popular books and among them I found these books in a box-set for only €14,95! Last week, I already reread ‘The Hunger Games’ and ‘Catching Fire’, and they were as amazing as I remember. I also watched the movie of ‘The Hunger Games’ again, and next week I am going to the cinema to check out the new ‘Catching Fire’ movie with my sister. Can’t wait!

IMG_2824
‘The Lost Symbol’ by Dan Brown special edition

Still excited about finding the Hunger Games trilogy, I stumbled upon another amazing book on the ‘popular’ tables. It was a Dutch copy of ‘The Lost Symbol’. But it wasn’t just an ordinary copy, it was the special illustrated edition. A flipped through it and saw all these paintings and stuff that play a role in this book, and I couldn’t leave it behind. I have read Dan Brown’s ‘Angels & Demons’ and ‘The Da Vinci Code’, which I both loved, so I’ll probably love this one as well. This book still cost me €12,95, which is not really cheap, but I looked up the original price of this special edition, which is €34,95. So I think it was a pretty good deal.

004
‘Gone’ by Michael Grant

Another Dutch book I found was ‘Gone’ by Michael Grant. This book has been on my ‘to-read shelf’ on Goodreads for a while now. I actually want to read this series in English, but this book was only €1,95 and who can resist a book that is only €1,95? Not me, especially since I really want to read this book.

005
‘Sarah’s Key’ by Tatiana de Rosnay

The last Dutch book I bought is ‘Sarah’s Key’ by Tatiana de Rosnay. I have seen this movie a while ago, and it was such a good movie and the story really hit me. Stories about World War II have always interested me, and it makes me appreciate the peace that I live in even more. I also love the setting of this book: Paris. Who doesn’t love Paris?

006
 ‘Julie and Julia’ by Julie Powell

Another book of which I have seen the movie first: ‘Julie and Julia’. After watching this movie I wanted to start cooking myself, but unfortunately I am not very good at it. But I loved the story. The alternation between the story of Julie and the story of Julia Child was really interesting and I can’t wait to read the story for myself, instead of watching the movie.

007
 ‘Citadel’ by Kate Mosse

They say you can’t judge a book by its cover, but I have to admit that the reason I decided to check out this book was the cover. I had never heard of this book before, neither have I heard of the author. But the summary on the inside of the cover sounded interesting to me. This book is also about World War II and is set in France, and the main characters are women. This sounded interesting enough for me to pick it up and it was only €1,95! When I got home I decided to check out this book on Goodreads, and I found out that this book is the third book in a series. But luckily some reviews write that this book can also be read as a standalone, so that’s what I’ll do.

008
 ‘The Casual Vacancy’ by J.K. Rowling

Last, but definitely not least, I found this book by J.K. Rowling. Lately I’ve been reading the Harry Potter books, and I love the writing style of J.K. Rowling. I am really curious how her writing style is when she is writing for adults. I have heard great things and not so great thing about this book, and the reviews are really diverse. I am planning on going into this book without any expectations and I am definitely not going to compare it to Harry Potter, because I feel like that would not be right since she is now writing for a whole different audience. Even though I have heard quite some negative opinions about this, I am still very excited to read this book!

What books have your recently bought?

6 thoughts on “BOOK HAUL #1: Dutch book sale ‘Het Boekenfestijn’

  1. Toffe boeken heb je gehaald! Ik kan je al vast vertellen dat Gone erg leuk is. Hij staat hier ook nog altijd in mijn boekenkast. En Haar Naam Was Sarah is gewoon mooi. Leesze!

  2. Haha, wat leuk om opeens een reactie van jou te zien op mijn blog, ik wist niet eens dat jij ook een (boeken)blog had :). Want volgens mij ben jij de Lotte die ik ken van de middelbare school toch? (Anders faal ik heel hard)

      • Ja sinds eind april heb ik mn eigen blog, maar daarvoor heb ik nog bij een andere blog (booksandkisses.nl) geblogged. Ik dacht al dat je het niet doorhad xD

Leave a Reply

