WRAP UP: November 2013

So, I can’t believe November is already over and we are starting the last month of 2013. December always goes by so quickly because it is so hectic and full of festivities. But I am not sure if I can handle the idea of 2014 already. I still remember being a little girl and crafting Christmas cards with ‘Happy 2000’ on them. Time goes by so quickly. But on topic: the books I read this month.

Insurgent
Insurgent by Veronica Roth

I finished Divergent at the end of October, so I decided to marathon the rest of the series and read Insurgent. I think Insurgent is my least favorite book of the series. I felt like the book was a little too long, and it didn’t capture my attention like Divergent did, but I still really loved it. I rated it 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Allegiant
Allegiant by Veronica Roth

To finish of my marathon of the Divergent trilogy, I read Allegiant. I was not really spoiled before I started reading the book, but I know that a lot of people didn’t like the ending and weren’t satisfied with the book at all. I have to admit that I really like the way Veronica Roth has ended this trilogy. It was in line with the personalities of the characters and when I really think about it, this book could not have ended in any other way that would satisfy me more. Although the downside of this ending is that it is all I can think about now when thinking about this trilogy.

The Hunger Games
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

After finishing Allegiant, I didn’t really feel like picking up a new book. But I knew I was going to see Catching Fire a few days after it came out so I decided to reread the books. Rereading the Hunger Games was amazing. The first time I read them I was so focused on the story and how it was going to end that I read way too fast and didn’t notice all the details. But this time, I took the time to read it slowly and learn about all the details of the story, which was great!

Catching Fire
Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

I really wanted to reread Catching Fire before I saw the movie, and I am so glad that I did! Otherwise I don’t think I would have noticed how much the movie is similar to the book, which makes this movie a hundred times better for me. Whereas the middle book of the Divergent trilogy was my least favorite, the middle book of The Hunger Games trilogy is my favorite! For me, this story was perfectly paced and there was a perfect balance between the political events that are happening in Panem at that moment en the Hunger Games themselves.

Every day

So after (re)reading the Divergent trilogy, the Hunger Games and Catching Fire I really felt like reading something other than dystopian trilgies. I decided to pick a contemporary stand-alone, and I am glad I did. I really loved this book, and I wrote a review about it which you can check out here.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

I am probably the only 90’s kid that didn’t read the Harry Potter series as I child. But I am catching up. I have now read the first five book of this series and I absolutely love it. I completely understand how this series can have such a large fandom, because it is just amazing.

What books did you read in November? I’d like to know!

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “WRAP UP: November 2013

  1. Oehh, gave lijst!
    En Harry Potter nog nooit gelezen D:Tut tut tut, haha :p
    De Divergent trilogie lijkt me zo gaaf 🙂 Die staat op mijn kerstlijstje!

Leave a Reply

