FRIDAY’S FIVE: Favorite Book Covers

They say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover. But I have to admit that I often do so. When I am browsing a book store, there are so many books that the first thing I look at is the cover. And only the books with interesting covers get a little more attention. But even though it is often thought that by judging a book by its cover we don’t do justice to the story, there are so many pretty covers that I just have to show.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Shatter me by Tehereh Mafi

I ordered this book a while ago on the book depository, and it should arrive any day now! I didn’t order it because the cover is so pretty – I have actually heard nothing but amazing things about this series – but it is definitely a pro! The cover is so pretty; I absolutely like this edition better than the edition with the girl in the white dress. Though that version is pretty as well, I love the creativity of this one. A lot of covers show girls nowadays, but this one with the eye and the branches as lashes is so much more creative!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

The Selection by Kiera Cass

I have not read this book yet, but it is definitely high on my to-read list! I am in love with the dress on this cover. It is so gorgeous. It gives me a feeling of pretty princesses, big dances and an amazing prince. Just the life every little girl dreams of. Even though I am not sure if that is what this book is about, I still want to read this book because its cover is so pretty.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Is it too obvious that I like covers that have a blue, icy theme? I promise this will be the last one, and the other two books of this post will be more original. But I don’t know what it is with all the blue and icy covers, but they are all so pretty! What I love about this one especially are all the swirls around the edges of the cover, and how the title flows together by these swirls.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Something quite different, but also really pretty! I am that girl that loves words and typography. This is the only cover of this book that I think is really pretty. The movie edition is OK, but not very special. And the edition with the green color and a small picture on the top right is just plain ugly. But this one I love. This is actually also the only book on this list that I have actually read.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Last, but definitely not least, is Eleanor & Park. I haven’t read this book yet, but it is very high on my to-read list, because I have read Fangirl and I just need more of Rainbow Rowell’s writing. This cover is just so simple and cute, and that’s why I love it. I also really love the fan-art that is made of this book and is in the same style of this cover, for example this one (creator unknown). All so simple but oh so pretty.

Do you judge your books by its covers? And what is your favorite book cover?
Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “FRIDAY’S FIVE: Favorite Book Covers

  1. I definitely judge books by their covers though I try not to let it put me off sometimes. My favourite covers were the amazing and perfect UK hardcover of The Night Circus and the UK versions of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy.

Leave a Reply

