FRIDAY’S FIVE: Favourite Books of 2013

I know 2013 is not completely over yet, but there are only two Fridays left so I feel like I should tell you about my favourite books of 2013. 2013 Was a special year for me, in which a lot of things happened. I graduated high school, I started college, I moved out and I live on my own now, and I rediscovered my love for reading. In this post I won’t be discussing books that released in 2013, but books that I read in 2013. So far, I have read 25 books in 2013. I know this is not a lot, but considering that I only really started reading in July it is OK for me. I’ll also be joining Brianna from Brianna’s Bookish Confessions in a 24hour Read-a-Thonhon on Sunday December 29th. Btw, if you also want to join, you can sign up here. So there will be some more books for 2013. But so far, these are my favourites:

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

This is one of the first books I’ve read in 2013, and I think this is what got me back into reading after several years of little reading. I have never read Harry Potter as a child (I am ashamed), but I am making up for that. In total, I have read 5 Harry Potter books this year, and they are all favourites. But to fill this post with only 5 Harry Potter books would be a little strange. So I decided to cheat a little and put all the Harry Potter books I have read so far under 1 book.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

The Fault in our Stars by John Green

I also read this book when I just got into reading, and I loved it so much. I cried a lot after I finished it, and I felt so touched by the story and I was surprised that a book could do such a thing to me. So I think that this book also contributed to the fact that I am reading so much more now. This book is just perfection and I think that everyone should read it. Also, I have heard rumours that John Green is working on a new book that will be released in 2014, but I can’t find it confirmed anywhere. But I hope it is true. In the mean time, I will spend my time with the John Green box set that I bought a few weeks ago.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl was the first book that I actually bought in 2013. Before that, I downloaded the books to read on my e-reader. But after hearing all the praise on Fangirl, and finding out about the fact that The Book Depository offers free international shipping, I decided to buy it. I remember that my mom sent me a picture when the book arrived (I let it be delivered at my parent’s) I couldn’t wait to get home. Once I got home that weekend, I immediately started reading it and didn’t put it down until it was finished.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Divergent by Veronica Roth

After hearing all the hype about Allegiant coming out, I thought I’d check out this trilogy as well. And I am glad I did. After reading Divergent I decided to marathon the rest of this trilogy and I absolutely loved it. I thought Divergent was the best, I did not so much like Insurgent, but Allegiant was great as well. But the reason why I love divergent so much is that it is so full of action, it is set in a fascinating world and the characters are amazing. I can’t wait to see what they made of the movie, which will release March 24th, 2014!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

It is probably not hard to guess when I read this book: just before I went to see the movie. I absolutely loved the movie, and I also loved rereading this book. Because I didn’t read this book for the first time in 2013. I have read this book before, back in 2011 of 2012, when I didn’t even realize the hype about it. But I actually like Catching Fire better than the first book. Learning more about the world that they are living in and how the society works was so interesting. This book is just amazing.

What is your favourite book of 2013?

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “FRIDAY’S FIVE: Favourite Books of 2013

Leave a Reply

