WRAP UP: December 2013

Happy 2014! The last month of 2013 has gone by so quickly and I can’t believe it is 2014 already. I hope you all had some great holidays and I wish you all the best for 2014. But before rushing into the new year, I am going to show you what books I have read in December. I read 7 books, which I think is really great. I participated in a 24 hour read-a-thon this month as well, which sort of failed because I slept for 8 hours. But I managed to read 2 amazing books during the time that I was awake, so it is not really a fail. And they were pretty big books as well: all in all I have read 813 pages, which is actually pretty good! But these are all the books I read in December:

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

This is the first book that I finished in December. I enjoyed this book, but it wasn’t one of my favorites. It was a little too slow for me, but overall it was an enjoyable book. I initially picked it up because of the cover, which is so pretty! If you want to read my full review of this book, click here.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Gone by Michael Grant

I had heard so many amazing things about this book, and how Michael Grant is such an amazing author, so I decided to pick this book up in December. I bought this book a few months ago in Dutch, so that is the version that I read. But I did not like this book. I am not sure if that was because I read it in Dutch, or because I just didn’t like the story. Here is my full review.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Shatter me by Tahereh Mafi

After reading two dystopian books that were OK, but not fantastic, I was hesitant to pick up another dystopian. But I have heard so many people rave about this book so I decided to pick it up anyway. And I am so happy I did: this book was amazing! I absolutely loved it, and after I finished it I immediately ordered Unravel Me because I need to know how this story continues. My review of this book will be up soon!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

After reading three dystopians in a row, I needed something different. The 5th of December I got this amazing box set of all John Green’s books, so I decided I’d start one of those books. I decided to go for An Abundance of Katherines, and I liked it. It was not as special to me as The Fault in our Stars was, but I really enjoyed it. John Green is such a smart author and I loved how he included all the nerdy details such as the anagrams and foreign words. I laughed out loud when I found the Dutch swear word ‘paardenlul’.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

I loved this book so much! I started it the evening before Christmas, and 24 hours later I finished it. And it was not like I could read all day, because we had family over all day. I was halfway this book when I went to bed on Christmas, and I decided to read a few more chapters. But all of a sudden it was 2:30 am and I finished it. That’s how much I liked this book and how captivating it is!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

This is the first book that I read during the 24 hour read-a-thon. I started it at midnight, but I felt really sick so I decided to sleep a little more before I started. But then I woke up at 8 am so already 1/3 of the 24 hours were over. But I still decided to read as much as possible. I really liked Delirium, but sometimes it was a little predictable I thought. But I really enjoyed reading it and I didn’t have any difficulty reading this in one sitting.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This was the last book I read in December, and it was also during the 24 hour read-a-thon. I just loved this book so much! I was really cute and the characters were so lovable. And the fact that it took place in Paris made me enjoy it so much more! I really love Paris and I really want to spend half a year in Paris to study at a university there. This book was also the perfect read for a read-a-thon because it is so easy to read and so much fun.

What books have you read in December?
Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “WRAP UP: December 2013

  1. Many of these are on my ‘read soon’ list.

    I think ‘Ironskin’ by Tina Connolly was my favourite read of December.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

