HAUL #3: January 2014

So I bought some books again. Since I had exams in January, I didn’t have much time to blog or read, but I did have time to order some good books online. I also went to the ‘Boekenfestijn’ again, which is a very large book sale in the Netherlands. This time, the book sale took place ín the city I live in and it started on the day of my last exam, so I figured I should reward myself for finishing the exams by buying some new books. The total of this month is 15 books. It’s quite a lot, but they were all pretty cheap. But before I am buying new books next month, I am forcing myself to read at least 5 unread books first before I can buy new ones. I don’t want to became a person that has a million books but has only read a few of them; I’d rather own less books of which I can say that I’ve read most of them.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

After finishing Shatter Me, I immediately ordered Unravel Me. It came in about two weeks before my exams, but I didn’t allow myself to start it already because I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to stop reading after I started, but I needed my time to study. But now my exams are over, it is very high on my to-read list for coming weekend! I have heard so many people being on team Warner, but after reading Shatter Me and Destroy Me, I am still on team Adam. So I am very curious what is going to happen in Unravel Me what makes so many people switch to team Warner. And I guess that after reading this book, I won’t wait long until ordering Ignite Me, which will release February 4th.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads
















Pandemonium and Requiem by Lauren Oliver

This books have the same story as Unravel Me: I read the first book and immediately ordered the following book because I loved the first book so much. But unfortunately I haven’t had time to read them. But they have been standing in my (new!) bookcase for a few weeks now and I can’t wait to pick them up. I have heard amazing this about these books. 🙂

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Harry Potter box set by J.K. Rowling

I can’t describe how excited I am about owning these books! I have never read them when I was younger, but recently I started reading them on my Kobo. I have read the first 5 books now and I absolutely love them, so I thought that I should own these books as well. The only problem is that I find them so expensive. But I am the luckiest girl on earth, because I found the paperback editions secondhand online, and they were only €20! So I bought all 7 Harry Potter books for only €20, and they are in almost perfect condition! You can see that the first books have been read, but the last 4 books look like new! I consider myself very lucky.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

And now on to the books that I bought at the book sale after my exams. The first book I picked up is this one. I have heard some things about this book in the bookblog/booktube community, but not too much. The ratings on Goodreads are really good though, and the premise on the back sounded really interesting, so I decided to pick this up. I also think that this book has a really pretty cover, with the butterfly in the jar.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Far to Go by Alison Pick

I have always been interested in story that is set in a different world than the world I live in. Those could be fantasy places, but also places far away from here or historical places. This book it set in Czechoslovakia during World War II, so it is set in a very different plave than I am living in. I hadn’t heard of this book before but I really liked the story on the back and the ratings on Goodreads were OK, so I decided to pick this book up and learn a little more about those far-away places.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Russian Winter by Daphne Kalotay

Another book that takes place in another country, this time Russia. I really want to visit Russia soon! But this book is mostly set in Russia when it was still the Soviet Union and a communist country. This book tells the story of Nina Revskaya who was a ballerina in that time. I absolutely love ballet, I even did ballet myself when I was a little girl, but unfortunately I quit when I got older. But a book about ballet that is set in the Soviet Union: sounds good to me!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Those Who Save Us by Jenna Blum

Another book that is set during World War II. I have heard a lot about this book in the Netherlands, and I actually bought the Dutch copy of this book. This book has been in the top lists in all the Dutch bookstores, and I am really interested in finding out why this book is so popular. I hope I will enjoy reading this book in Dutch, because the last time a read a book in Dutch it was a bit disappointing, but that might have been the book as well. I’m excited to find out. 🙂

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


365 Dagen Onderweg by Floortje Dessing

Another book in Dutch, but this is not a fiction book. This is a travel book written by the person I want to be when I grow up. 🙂 Floortje Dessing is a Dutch women who makes television programs and writes books about the travels she makes. The translation of the title is: 365 days on the go. She writes about the places she has been and gives amazing traveling tips. My dream job would be similar to hers: getting paid for traveling and writing. So this book is really inspiring me to travel more often. 🙂

What books have you bought in January?
Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “HAUL #3: January 2014

  1. OMG, I finished the delirium trilogy in like two weeks, and cried so many times (in public, talk about awkward). It’s sooo good, I really loved it!!

Leave a Reply

