FRIDAY’S FIVE: Book to movie adaptations in 2014

2014 is going to be a busy year for the YA movie industry. So many good books are being made into movies, and I can’t wait to see those movies. I hope that they will stay true to the book though, because I don’t like it when a book I have read is made into a movie and they change all kinds of things. But Catching Fire gave me hope for this year. Catching Fire was such a good movie because the movie was very similar to the book. I especially love how they used exact quotes from the books in this movie. And I hope that the book to movie adaptations that are coming out this year, will be amazing as well.

The fault in our Stars

The trailer for this movie just released a few days ago, and I immediately watched it. And since then, I have watched it at least another 20 times. I can’t describe how excited I am for this movie. The fault in our Stars is one of my favorite books ever, and the fact that they use so many amazing quotes in the trailer already is very promising. I also really liked the fact that John Green has been making videos for his youtube channel (vlogbrothers), and he has been so enthusiastic about this movie. And if even the writer of the books love the movie, the movie must be great. The Fault in our Stars will release on June 6th.

Divergent

Another one of my favorite books is made into a movie: Divergent! But I am not as excited for this movie as I am for The Fault in our Stars, because I am not sure if this movie will be as great as the book. I think the trailer is okay, but I am not really enthusiastic about the casting. I mean, Theo James is hot, don’t get me wrong, but he looks so much older than Shailene Woodley who is playing Tris, that there love scenes are not very convincing in my opinion. But all in all, I think I will really enjoy watching this movie, and I can’t wait until March 21st, which is the release date of this movie.

Vampire Academy

I read all the Vampire Academy books in just a little over two weeks, so that shows how much I love these books. I am a little more hesitant about the movie though, because I feel like it is going the be very much like Mean Girls. Mean Girls was directed by the same director as Vampire Academy, and the trailers really focusses on the High School-drama part of these books, whereas they are about so much more than just High School-drama. But it’s not a punishment to look at Danila Kozlovsky, who is playing Dimitri, so when the movie sucks, I won’t be bored but I’ll just stare at Dimitri. This movie will release on February 7th.

Mockingjay Part 1

This is probably the movie that I am most excited for, because I loved The Hunger Games and Catcing Fire so much. Although I liked the book a little less than the other books in this trilogy, I still really liked and and I can’t wait to see how they turn this into a movie. I am actually really glad that they are making two parts of it, because there is too much happening in the book to be put into one movie. Although I do not like the fact that I’ll probably have to wait until the end of 2015 to see the second part of Mockingjay. There is no trailer out yet for this movie, which is not really strange because it will be released November 19th which is still so far away. Instead, I put a video in here in which some of the actors from Catching Fire are talking about the previous and upcoming movies. I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT ALL OF THIS!


The Maze Runner
There isn’t an official trailer out yet for this movie either, and I haven’t read the book yet, but still I am very excited about this. I am planning on reading the books in the Maze Runner trilogy very soon, so I can watch the trailers and the actual movie without being spoiled for the book. I think most reading have this rule that they want to read the book before they see the movie, and I am exactly the same. I haven’t even seen the Harry Potter movies because I haven’t read all the books yet, so I am very strict to myself. πŸ™‚ The Maze Runner will release on September 18th.

What is your most anticipated book to movie adaptation for 2014?
Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “FRIDAY’S FIVE: Book to movie adaptations in 2014

  1. I can’t wait for VA! At the same time.. I’m really not on board with all the casting choices.. *cough* Dimitri *cough* but I guess I always imagined him as bigger, and older.. and well.. that might not look that great on screen. Creeper old guy alert! Heh heh.

    Great list! I’m looking forward to these too.. Although I gotta get on and read the books (I haven’t watched the Hunger Games movies yet because I’m determined to read the books first.. and I know, I should have done this by now)

    πŸ˜€

  2. I read the Maze Runner about two weeks ago and after finishing the book this became my most anticipated movie adaptation. I can’t wait to see how they turned this into a movie. πŸ™‚

    • I really want to read the Maze Runner soon, but there are so many great books that I want to read as well. Luckily I still have a few months until the movie comes out, so enough time to read it before then. (:

Leave a Reply

