REVIEW: Vampire Academy Series (spoiler-free)

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Series: Vampire Academy
Publisher: Razorbill
Number of books: 6
Rating:


Since I didn’t feel like doing 6 separate reviews of this series, I’ll write one review of this series as a whole. I started the first book around Christmas, and in the second week of 2014 I had finished all six books already. This will be a spoiler-free review, like I always do.




Plot

This series is set in a world of vampires. But these vampires are a little different than vampires you might know from other books. In Vampire Academy, there are three different types of vampires: Moroi, Strigoi and Dhampirs. Moroi are vampires that drink blood from humans, but when they drink they usually don’t kill their ‘victim’. There are people that volunteer to be Moroi feeders because the saliva from the Moroi gives you a high like you’re on drugs, and is very addicting. The Moroi also have abilities to control one of the four elements: water, fire, wind and earth. There is a fifth element as well, but that one is a little mysterious and you’ll find out about this in the books. Moroi are mortal, as opposed to Strigoi who are immortal. The Strigoi are the ‘evil’ vampires, who kill their victims when they drink from them. Also, Strigoi have lost their soul in the process of turning Strigoi, and are therefore unable to do any good. And the Strigoi want to kill the royal Moroi families. Therefore, the Moroi have the Dhampirs to protect them. Dhampirs are half vampire and half human, and have the best of both worlds, so to say. They look very much like humans and don’t drink blood, but live off normal food. But they have the strength and speed of vampires, and are therefore the perfect bodyguards for the Moroi. So this book series is about these kinds of vampires, and our main character, Rose, is a Dhampir. The series starts off at the point where Rose and Lissa, her best friend who is a royal Moroi princess, have run away from the Academy. Rose and Lissa are bonded, in a way that Rose can read Lissa’s mind, but Lissa can’t read Rose’s mind. You learn that they have run away from the Academy because there is a danger at the Academy about which you’ll find out later in the first book. But the Academy wants them back, because they believe that Lissa and Rose are not save outside the Academy, because Lissa is a Moroi who needs protection from the Strigoi and Rose is a Dhampir who is not fully trained yet. Eventually, Rose and Lissa are taken back to the Academy where the danger that they ran away still is. A lot of typical high school drama with impossible romances, but also a lot of action and vampire killing.

Vampire Academy 2

What I liked about this series

One of the main things that I like about these books is that they are so action-packed and they are very easy to read. The fact that I read all six books (while studying for exams) in only a little over three weeks shows how great they are. Because there is so much action in these books, I wanted to keep on reading and I wanted to know what would happen next. It has happened several times that I was reading until 4 am because I wanted to finish the book. And once I finished the book in the middle of the night, I immediately started the next book because most of the books end in cliff-hangers. I consider myself very lucky that I had all the books available to read immediately: I can’t imagine waiting months until the next book of this series came out before I could go on with reading. So that’s how captivating these books are.
Another thing that I really loved about this book are the characters. Most of the characters were so lovable and I could relate to them very much. Rose is such a strong personality with a lot of power, and I love her funny sarcasm. Lissa is also amazing, she is mentally very strong and always willing to help her friends. And the guys in these books, oh my. Can I marry them all, please? I especially really liked Adrian, who is introduced in one of the later books, and he is so funny. Like I said, all the characters were very lovable, but they weren’t perfect which made me love them even more. Because they made their mistakes and took some wrong decisions, they were so much more realistic.
Another thing I love about it: It is not over yet! There is a spin-off series, called the Bloodlines series which is about the Alchemists (who are humans who help the vampires to stay secret from the human world). On one of her quests, Rose meets the alchemist Sydney who helps Rose out in some difficult situations. I haven’t started this spin-off series yet, but I sure as hell will soon! And after the spin-off series, it is still not over because there is also a movie of Vampire Academy, which will release February 7th.

Vampire Academy 1
What I did not like about this series

Maybe the fact that there are only 6 books in the series, there will be 6 in the spin-off series and probably some movies? I NEED MORE! No, just kidding. There are some minor things that annoyed me a little (just a little, I promise). The first thing is that sometimes, everything that happened was just too much of a coincidence. Some characters escaped from some pretty dangerous situations with what was in my opinion a little too much of a coincidence. Or the fact that Rose always decided to look into Lissa’s mind when something exciting/dangerous was going on, was also a little too coincidental at some points. Not always of course, because could also sense Lissa’s feelings, but at some points Rose was just like: “Oh, let’s see what Lissa is up to”, and that would happen to be the beginning of a very exciting event. But overall, I feel like Richelle Mead did a really good job with writing these books and writing creative endings to some dangerous situations.

Would I recommend this book?
YES! No doubt about this, I think that everyone would love this book. There is a lot of action, but it is not scary. There are some romances, but it is not a cliche love story. And if you have read the first, of the first two books and you missed a little action, please continue because every book in this series is better than the previous one. And please, also don’t be put off by the fact that this series is about vampires, which might raise some Twilight associations, but this is not you’re stereotypical vampire series. In my opinion, everyone should read this series because it is just amazing.

Rating

5 thoughts on “REVIEW: Vampire Academy Series (spoiler-free)

  1. Pingback: She blogs about books
  2. Pingback: FRIDAY’S FIVE: Favorite series/trilogies | She blogs about books

Leave a Reply

