FRIDAY’S FIVE: Classics I need to read

One of my bookish resolutions for 2014 was to read more classics. I am ashamed of how little classics I have read; the only ones are Pride and Prejudice and The Hobbit. So I decided I should read some more classics. There is a reason that we consider certain books as classics nowadays, and I want to find out what is so great about them. I know very little about classics, because I didn’t have to read them in high school. I only know about and read some Dutch classics, but that’s all. So if you recommend any great classics, please let me know in the comments! But these are the classics that I really want to read soon:

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

This book is on number one on several lists on Goodreads, such as Best Books of the 20th Century, Must Read Classics and many more. So I figured that this must be a great book to read when trying to read some more classics. I don’t know much about this book, and the description on Goodreads doesn’t make it any clearer, but I guess I sould just go into this book without knowing anything. Sometimes it’s best to start reading without knowing anything, because that way you’ll be more open to the story. I only know that this book is a very popular classic with pretty high ratings, but concerning the storyline I’ll let myself be surprised.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I’v been wanting to read this book since the movie came out. I heard so many great things about the movie, but I didn’t want to see the movie without having read the book first. But I somehow still haven’t read this book yet. But soon I will read this book and watch the movie and lose myself in the amazing world of the ’20s with its flapper dresses and stuff. I can’t wait!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Jane Eyre is one of those classics about which I have heard so many great things, but somehow I never picked it up myself. Maybe the amount of pages scares me a little. I don’t have much experience with classics, and since English isn’t my first language, I think I might have some trouble with the older language. I think that is one of the reasons why I haven’t read much classics yet. But I feel like I should expand my horizon more, and my vocabulary, by reading more classics. I think Jane Eyre will help me with this, and that I will really enjoy the story of this book.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


1984 by George Orwell

Since I love to read modern science-fiction/dystopian books, I think I will love this classic science-fiction story as well. The story sounds really interesting to me, although a little scary as well; the world being controlled by such a totalitarian authority. And something really different I like about this book is the cover. Overall, I don’t really like covers of classic books, but this one is just really amazing!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

There is some debate about whether this books are considered classics or not, but I think they are because Tolkien basically set the standard for high-fantasy books with this series. Some argue that fantasy is not real literature, but I think it is, and therefore I think that these books should be considered classics as well. I read The Hobbit a few months ago, and I really liked it. I can’t wait to get into this trilogy!

What is your favorite classic which you would recommend to me?
Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “FRIDAY’S FIVE: Classics I need to read

  1. The five books above are ‘huge’ classics! (by huge,I mean incredibly well-known)
    What other classics would I suggest?
    1.A Brave New World
    2.The Picture of Dorian Gray
    3.Of Human Bondage
    4.Lord of the Flies
    There are many more,such as novels from Faulkner,Hemingway,Dostoevsky,Kafka etc,but these books are among those that come to mind when I look at your selection of books!
    Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

