FRIDAY’S FIVE: Favorite Contemporary Books

Friday’s Five: the category on my blog in which I list 5 of the same subject. Today I will show you my five favorite contemporary books. Lately, I have been getting more into contemporary books. I was reading too much dystopians, I think, and I felt the need for some light and fun reads. So I picked up some contemporary books. Although not all of these are light reads, they sure are all contemporary. Click on ‘read more’ to see my five favorites!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Just One Day and Just One Year by Gayle Forman

This week you could read my review of Just One Day and Just One Year, and I loved both of these books, so there was no way I could leave them out of this list. I won’t elaborate on them here, but if you want to read my thoughts on both books, just check out the reviews I wrote.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


The Fault in our Stars by John Green

An obvious book that is probably on everyone’s favorite books list. But this book is really special to me. It was one of the first books that I read last summer when I really started reading again, and it was the first book ever to make my cry. I don’t get emotional very easily while reading, but The Fault in our Stars really made cry. And not just the kind where your eyes just get a little wet, but the kind that made me sob and blubber loudly because I was so emotional. Because this was the first piece of fiction that really hit me, and because of the fact that it just is a great and beautifully written book, this will always be a favorite of mine.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I just discovered booktube and bookblogs around the time that Fangirl was released, so naturally I had to get it to see what the hype was all about. I bought at The Book Depository, my first book order ever. When the book arrived, I immediately started it and within 48 hours I had finished it. It was such a funny book and I could relate to Cath so well! I wasn’t a big fangirl at that time myself, but I had just moved out to go to college in a different city and recognized myself in her social anxiety related to college. Also, I really love Rainbow Rowell’s writing style and I can’t wait to pick up more of her books! Eleanor & Park is very high on my wishlist!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Anne and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

It’s funny how I still remember when I read all these books. I read Anna and the French Kiss during the 24-hour read-a-thon I participated in around Christmas. It was the perfect light and sweet read I needed after I had already read for 10 hours and it didn’t feel like an obligation to keep reading. That this book is set in Paris is just another small thing that I love about it, since I love all French things and I really want to study in Paris in about 1,5 years.

Click on the image to check out the page on Goodreads

Click on the image to check out the page on Goodreads


Every Day by David Levithan

This is one of the first books that I reviewed for this blog. I really loved the idea of this book: Every day, ‘A’ wakes up in a different body. But then he falls in love. I really loved how David Levithan worked out this fascinating concept, and I am a big fan of David Levithan’s writing style. So this book is definitely a favorite of mine!

What is your favorite contemporary book?
Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “FRIDAY’S FIVE: Favorite Contemporary Books

  1. *hangs head in shame* I haven’t read any of these.. but I do have The Fault in Our Stars on order. It’ll be dropping through my letterbox soon! Heh heh.

  2. I absolutely loved TFIOS! What an amazing book was that.
    I haven’t read the others but Every Day is on my desk waiting to be read. Fangirl is being published in Dutch in July and I want to read it in that languages, so I have to be a little patience. Anna and the french kiss is on my e-reader, also waiting to be read (but there are so many books waiting to be read xD)

  3. I have read 4 books on your list and Just One Day is my favorite. I’ll be checking Anna and the french kiss soon. I love your blog!! ❤

Leave a Reply

