Review: hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Title: Hopeless
Author: Colleen Hoover
Series: Hopeless #1
Published: Published December 19th 2012, Self-published
Format: Ebook
Pages: 327
Rating:

Plot

Seventeen year old Sky has never been in love. She has made out with a lot of guys, but she never loved one of them. She doesn’t know the butterfly-feeling most people get when they make out with someone. Or even when they see someone. Until she meets Dean Holder, better known as bad-guy Holder, in the supermarket and he comes after her because he thinks he recognizes her. That’s how Sky and Holder get involved with each other, but Sky wants to keep Holder at a distance because of his bad reputation. But Holder doesn’t give up easily, and as Sky gets to know him better, terrifying memories from Sky’s past keep coming back to her, little by little. It turns out that Holder knows a lot more about her than she initially thought, and when Holder finally tells her the whole story, Sky’s life will never be the same again.

What I liked about the book

I really loved the plot of this book. I started this book expecting it to be a romantic contemporary read, but I knew there had to be something special about it since it has an average rating of 4,47 stars on Goodreads. The first chapters of this book are really about boy-meets-girl and that kind of stuff, but the plot takes really interesting turns and details about Sky’s past are revealed little by little. I had never expected this story to turn out the way it did, and I love how it surprised me. It is definitely way more than just a story of boy-meets-girl.

Another thing that really surprised me about this book is how it made me feel. I have never had strong feelings with a book. I see feelings more as part of the characters than that I actually feel happy/sad/etc. with them. The Fault in Our Stars being the exception to this. And this book made me feel all the feelings myself. I was sad when Sky was sad, I could almost feel the kisses Holder gave her, I was happy when they were happy and I cried when they cried. I know that a lot of people experience this with a lot of books, but for me a book has to be really special in order to touch me like this. And I really don’t know what it is about this book. Probably the fact that it is pretty realistic. I don’t cry at fantasy books or books that are set in a different world, because in the back of my head I realize that it isn’t true, and my brain translates that into the feelings of the characters not being real either. But the story in this book really could have happened. And I am sure that a lot of parts of it are happening right now. I think that is why it’s easier for me to get attached to these characters and feel their emotions with them.

I find it really hard to point out other technical aspects of this book that I liked, because I was so consumed with all the feelings that I didn’t really noticed that. When thinking about it know I realize that Colleen Hoover has a beautiful and flowy writing style, and that she writes really great, developed characters. But the main reason I loved this book was definitely the amazing plot and the way it made me feel. Oh, and there is a second book with Holder’s story, which I really need to read soon!

What I did not like about this book

When I started the book and found out that Sky was a girl that has never been in love before, I knew she was going to fall in love in this book. But it already happened at the 20th page or something, which I thought was way too soon. The moment Sky meets Holder she gets butterflies and can’t get him out of her head. I almost put this book away again because I didn’t feel like reading some lame instalove story. But because of the great Goodreads ratings I knew something good was about to happen, so I kept reading. And I am so glad I did, because the ‘instalove’ was totally justified in the end. I didn’t like it at first, but now I know what was about to happen it is totally justifiable.

Would I recommend this book?

Definitely! This book really touched me, like very little other books have done before. It is a really great contemporary book with an amazing plot. But there are some scenes in there that fit into the New Adult genre. So if you’re a young reader, I’d suggest you put off reading this book a little longer until you feel you are ready for the New Adult Genre. But if you think/know you can handle those scenes, you should really read this book because it is one of my new favorites of this year!

Rating

Quotes

“The sky is always beautiful.Even when it’s dark or rainy or cloudy,it’s still beautiful to look at….it’ll be there no matter what…and I know it’ll always be beautiful.”

“F#%k all the firsts, Sky. The only thing that matters to me with you are the forevers.”

“Sometimes you have to choose between a bunch of wrong choices and no right ones. You just have to choose which wrong choices feels the least wrong.”

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Review: hopeless by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: WRAP UP: April 2014 | She blogs about books

Leave a Reply

