TAG: Top 10 Influential Books

10 influential books

I haven’t been tagged by anyone to do this tag, but it has been going around for a while now and i thought it would be nice to do it as well. I have been a reader since I was a little girl and would crawl onto my father’s lap with a children’s book and ask him whether he would read it to me. When I was old enough to read myself, my parents took me to the library, and every month I took 5 books with me, which was the maximum amount you could take at once, and I would have those books finished in about two weeks. So I imagine there must be at least 10 books that have influences my life in some way or another.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads
















Nijntje by Dick Bruna

This Dutch cute little rabbit has its own book series and there are a lot of different books with very simple stories, such as Nijntje goes to the zoo or Nijntje and her bike. I remember that these were my favorite books as a little girl and when I crawled onto my father’s lap with a book, it usually was a book from this series.

De Olijke Tweeling by Arja Peters

Another Dutch book series that I loved as a child, but I read these books when I was a little older and I was able to read by myself. This book series contains over 30 books and I own at least 15 of them. Every year at Christmas or my birthday I would ask for a book in this series, and I would have finished it in just a few hours. This series is about twin girls that have different adventures in every book.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads
















Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer

After not reading for a while when I started high school, I got back into reading when I read Twilight. I think I was about 13 years old and there was a lot of hype going around about this book. A lot of my friends had been reading this, and I was told I should read it as well. I really loved it at the time, and I bought all the books as soon as they came out. I even own the Official Illustrated Guide to the Twilight Saga. I remember being so caught up in the books that I read until my parents went to bed and got angry at me for reading this long. So this series has definitely had a really large impact on my reading life.

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

I remember that my mother got this book on her birthday, but I read it before she did. I am really interested in different countries and different cultures, so this book was perfect for this. It gave me the opportunities to take a peek into the lives of women in Afghanistan, which was really interesting but also heart-breaking.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads
















Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

This book is about a boy, Clay Jensen, who comes home from school one day and finds a box with cassette tapes on his doorstep. These cassettes are recorded by a girl named Hannah Baker, who has committed suicide very recently. There are 13 cassettes in the box, and every cassette contains a reason why she committed suicide, and Clay is one of those reasons. This book really touched me because I know someone who has committed suicide but I found it really hard to understand why. Of course there are no two people the same, and Hannah and Clay’s story is different from mine, but this book made me realize that there are a lot of small things in life that can hurt people, but that there are also a lot of small things that can make people really happy, such as smiling to someone, talking to someone or complimenting someone.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I feel like I mention this book way too often on my blog. It is basically in every favorites list of mine. I also feel like this book doesn’t need more explanation, and I this book probably has had an influence on a lot of people’s lives.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads
















The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I have read the first two books in this series three times, and I read Mockingjay twice, but I don’t even reread that much books. The first time I read this series I had downloaded it as an ebook and was reading it on my phone during boring classes in High School. The second time was about a year later when the movie was about to come out, and before the Catching Fire movie came out I reread The Hunger Games and Catching Fire again. And I’ll probably reread the trilogy again before the Mockingjay movie comes out.

Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

I already loved these books from the moment that I read them (still need to read Ignite Me though, but the Book Depository failed in getting my preordered paperback version here in time) but ever since I had the chance to interview Tahereh on Skype, these books have become really special to me.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads
















Every Day by David Levithan

This book really made me think about love and looks. Since the protagonist changes to a different body every day, but still manages to find love, made me really think about what the importance of a body is when you love somebody. Do you fall in love just with somebody’s soul, or is the body and looks part of the reason why you love someone?

Just One Day by Gayle Forman

This book taught me to never give up on something you want, because there always is a way to find it. It also taught me that I really need to spend a semester studying in Paris.

What books have had an influence in your life?
Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

