MOVIE TRAILER: If I Stay

You have already been able to see my review of the book If I Stay by Gayle Forman. The moment I bought this book I didn’t know it was going to be made into a movie, but just a few days after I received the book I found out that the movie trailer was released. I saw a lot of people tweeting about how they cried at the trailer of this movie. I was really curious about it, but I decided not to watch it yet and read the book first, because I like to make up my own version of the characters in my mind and I don’t want them to be defined by the actors and actresses playing in the movie. But as you might have figured out already, I have watched the trailer now and I absolutely love it!

I wrote in my book review that I absolutely loved the writing and the story and the concepts in this book, but that I somehow didn’t get touched by it. However, the movie trailer did touch me. I watched the trailer immediately after I finished the book, and I am so glad I did because now I am able to experience the greatness of this book at a whole different level. I keep watching the trailer over and over again, trying to figure out what it is in the trailer that didn’t touch me in the book. And I think I have figured it out: It’s the music! I know literally nothing about classical music, but I am in love with that cello music in the background of this trailer. It somehow sounds so beautifully tragic. But at the moment they show the accident in the trailer, the music switches to the song Say Something by A Great Big World, and I have so much love for that song! And when the singer starts singing you can see Adam running to the window of the ICU from where he can see Mia, and I think somehow seeing everything happen just makes it more real for me, and makes me feel all the feels.

Can I also take one moment to say how great Chloë Grace Moretz is? She is just so gorgeous, and I really love her acting and I am 100% sure that she will make an amazing Mia. And I also really like Jamie Blackley as Adam. He is exactly how I imagined him. He is good-looking, but not in a very obvious way. And he also portrayes a good Adam, for as far as I can see in this trailer. In my mind, Adam is the nicest and sweetest guy ever, plus he is in a band, which makes the perfect combination for me. I love how he cares so much about Mia and how he does so many great things for her such as taking her to a symphony or how he says he loves her just the way she is. Sigh, it all looks so perfect. I really hope that the actual movie can live up to my high expectations after seeing the trailer. The movie will release on August 22nd in the United States, and on September 18th in the Netherlands.

What do you think about this movie trailer?
Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “MOVIE TRAILER: If I Stay

  1. I haven’t read the book.. but I’ve seen the movie trailer.. Which makes me want to read the book! Lololol.

  2. Pingback: WRAP UP: April 2014 | She blogs about books

Leave a Reply

