WRAP UP: April 2014

source: weheartit

source: weheartit

Whut? Is it May already? I know I say this every month but if time keeps going at this pace I’ll be graduating before I realize it! On the other hand, time going so fast means that it is almost summer already! I hope I’ll have my last exam on June 12th, which is in 42 days, and after that I’ll have plenty of time to read. So that’s not too bad. But let’s not get ahead of myself, it is only the beginning of May and I’m going to show what books I’ve read in April first. I read 4 books and 2 (or 4? Does the Delirium Stories count as 1 or 3?) novellas. Click on ‘continue reading’ to see what I read in April and what I plan on reading in May!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Delirium Stories by Lauren Oliver

This is the first book that I’ve read in April, and this book contains 3 short stories about side characters from the Delirium trilogy. I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads, because I didn’t feel like this book added much to the trilogy. Maybe it’s because I read this after I finished the entire trilogy, and some of these stories are set before or between books in the trilogy, but I felt like I knew already much of what was told in these stories. But I think if I had read these stories at the right moment, they would have been much more fun.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

This was my first ever book by Colleen Hoover, and I didn’t really know what to expect. I had never really read any New Adult books and I thought I wouldn’t like it that much. But after I finished this book I was totally flabbergasted. This book made me feel so many feels, and I didn’t expect a New Adult book to touch me this much. But I guess my prejudices about New Adult books weren’t true at all. I already wrote a full review about this book, which you can find here.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Last month, I finally read The Book Thief, which had been staring at me from my shelves since forever! And I am so glad that I finally picked up this book, because it is such a wonderful book. This book is just so unique, especially the narration style, and this is one of the books that will stay with me for a really long time. Another thing that I absolutely loved about this book were the characters. Almost all of the characters were such wonderful people, and my absolute favorites are Hans Hubermann and Rudy Steiner. And of course Liesel herself. If you haven’t read this book yet, you really should read it soon because it is perfection!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


If I Stay by Gayle Forman

After The Book Thief, which was a pretty large book, I wanted to read something a little shorter. Therefore I picked up If I Stay, which only has a little over 200 pages. I read this book in just one afternoon, but it was definitely not a fluffy and light read. It was an absolutely beautiful story, that somehow didn’t touch me as much as I expected it to. You can read my full review of this book here. This book is also being made into a movie, and I watched the movie trailer right after finishing the book. I wrote down my toughts on the trailer here.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Fracture Me by Tahereh Mafi

The other novella, besides the Delirium Stories, that I’ve read this month is the #2.5 in the Shatter Me series. I read this because I planned on reading Ignite Me, but I’ve heard so many great things about the novellas that I just had to read it. And I am glad that I did, because it adds so much to the series! Fracture Me is written from Adam’s point of view and this way we get to know him so much better. In the beginning of this novella I even felt a lot of sympathy for him while I really had started to dislike him in Unravel Me. In the end I was just as annoyed with him as I was in the previous book, but I understood him much better. This novella is definitely worth reading!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

OH MY THIS BOOK WAS SOOOO GOOD! I haven’t written a review on this book yet, because I have a little trouble ordering my thoughts about it. I am even starting to doubt whether I maybe should do just a spoilery discussion for this book, instead of a review, because I don’t know if I’ll be able to write a coherent review on this book without spoiling anything. This book was just so immensely great and perfect and I need everyone who hasn’t done so already to pick up the Shatter Me series and read all the books! Because I think everyone will love this and everyone deserves a little Warner and Kenji in their lives.

source: weheartit

source: weheartit


So those were all the books that I’ve read in April. I’m pretty happy about them because I loved almost every single one of them. I hope May will be as much fun as April was, though I doubt it because I will be insanely busy for school because I have a lot of deadlines at the end of May. But nevertheless I expect to enjoy some great books in the coming month.
Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This is one of the books that I really need to read in May. I ordered this book from the Book Depository a few days ago and I can’t wait until it arrives! I usually don’t buy hardcover books because they are just so expensive, but I NEED this book in my life. I already read a preview of it on PulseIt and I can’t wait to finish this story. Also, this book is just gorgeous, with and without the dust jacket, that I can’t live without a copy on my shelves. Unfortunately I let this book ship to my parents’ address, because I don’t trust my neighbors, but I won’t be home for the next three weeks so I need to wait a little while before I can read this.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

I am currently reading the first book in this trilogy, and I really like it so far! I had a little trouble getting into the story, but now I’m a little over halfway through I’m having quite some trouble putting it down. I’m not sure whether I’ll immediately pick up the other books in this trilogy, but I’m definitely going to finish the first book.

Those are the two books that I really want to read in May. I plan on reading some more books, but I don’t like planning everything ahead. I love just looking at my TBR shelf and picking the book that I feel like reading at that moment. So that’s what I will do.

What books did you read in April?
Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

