REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi
Title: Ignite Me
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Shatter Me #3
Published: February 4th 2014 by HarperCollins
Format: Paperback
Pages: 408
Rating: ()





YOU GUYS, I finally read this book. And can I please give this infinite stars? I absolutely love this book! I am having a really hard time reviewing this book without spoilers, so I will just write a very short part without spoilers, but if you click on the continue reading button you’ll be able to see all my thoughts on this book with all the spoilers.

So, my spoiler-free thoughts on this book. I don’t think I have to tell you again that I absolutely loved this book. After reading Unravel Me, I was a little insecure about how Tahereh Mafi would wrap all this mess up in just one more book. Because the entire world is ruined and she couldn’t just fix that in one book. But luckily, the focus in this book wasn’t on tying all the loose ends together, but on the characters. This entire series has been more character-driven that plot-driven, I think, but Ignite Me topped it all. I think Tahereh managed to write such diverse and developed characters, that I didn’t really care how it was going to wrap up, as long as the characters were happy. The main thing that I absolutely loved was the relationship between Juliette and Kenji. There is finally a book in which a guy and a girl are best friends without falling in love with each other. Although I did fall in love with Kenji. 🙂 I am scared that if I write more about how much I liked this book, I will spoil it for you. So please continue reading if you want to see all my spoilery thoughts, but GO AWAY IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THIS BOOK YET!

WARNING: THE REMAINING OF THIS REVIEW CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS!

My thoughts about this book are all over the place, and I seem to have lost the ability to write a coherent review, so I am just going to list all the things I loved in this book. Or maybe not all the things. That way I’d have to copy the book, and that would be plagiarism. Anyhow, the first thing that I loved about this book is how much Juliette has grown as a person. In the first book, she was just this little girl who was scared of everything, even scared of herself. And throughout this series, she has grown out to be such a powerful young woman. I love how she is trying all the time to convince her friends to fight with her, and that she is even willing to lead the group and eventually the world, if she has to. I marked one of the quotes related to Juliette’s personal growth:

“I am no longer afraid of fear, and I will not let it rule me. Fear will learn to fear me.”

Another thing that I absolutely love in this book is Juliette’s friendship with Kenji. I’ve already quickly mentioned it above, but their relationship is just so special. And Kenji is just the best person ever. I love how at one point he is even willing to fight on Juliette’s side, with Warner, even when Adam is still angry at her and refuses to fight or accept Warner. I also really love how Kenji is always trying to make everyone happy, despite his own problems. But luckily Juliette realized that Kenji was also really struggling with everything that was happening so Juliette was a really good friend for Kenji in return. And like I just mentioned, I am thankful that Tahereh made a guy and a girl such good friends without one of them falling in love with the other. Because that’s what always happens. But not this time. And that’s a good thing, because in real life guys and girls can be friends without falling in love as well.

Source: unknown (please let me know if this is yours)

Source: unknown (please let me know if this is yours)

On to the next topic: the love triangle in this book. I find it very interesting to see how Tahereh made me hate Warner in the first book, while I loved Adam back then. But now I am all on team Warner and Adam annoyed the crap out of me. Tahereh did a great job at making me turn around 180 degrees. The things that made me love Warner were the parts in which he showed his vulnerability, and he was willing to share his emotions with Juliette. I don’t cry easily, but I teared up when Warner was crying for his mother. And I have to admit that my eyes also got a little wet when Juliette finally told Warner that she loved him. But those weren’t the only things I loved about Warner. I also love how he makes Juliette feel. He really, truly believes in her and he makes her so much stronger. He loves the strong girl Juliette can be. While Adam, on the other hand, is in love with the little, scared girl who needs his help. Adam was constantly doubting her, trying to take care of her, and while he did this out of love, it was pulling her down. Warner is just so much better for her.

And last but not least, I need to say something about the writing style. The writing style in this book series is just so unique, I have never read anything like it! I also love how the writing style in Shatter Me is so different from the style in Ignite Me, because it represents Juliette’s growth and development. In the first book, so was just so insecure and constantly crossing out her thoughts, while in the last book she was very confident. There are also many parts of this book that were very quotable, my favorite being the quote about the quotation marks when Juliette was holding Warner. It is just perfection. And to wrap this weird review-thingy up, some more beautiful quotes:

“No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence. Swords may cut and kill, but words will stab and stay, burying themselves in our bones to become corpses we carry into the future, all the time digging and failing to rip their skeletons from our flesh.”

“I will be alive in ten years, and I’m going to be happy. I’m going to be strong. And I don’t need anyone to tell me that anymore. I am enough, and I always will be.”

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “REVIEW + DISCUSSION: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: Shatter Me Trilogy ~ Fanart and Quotes | She blogs about books

Leave a comment