REVIEW: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Title: Rebel Belle
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Series: Rebel Belle #1
Published: April 8th 2014 by Putnam Juvenile
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Format: Ebook
Pages: 352
Rating:

Plot

Harper Price is a typical Southern girl and the queen of her High School. She is president of every board, she has a lot of friends, and she has a lovely boyfriend. Her life is perfect, until it all changes at the night she was supposed to be crowned homecoming queen. When she goes to the bathroom to check on her makeup, she runs into her history teacher who is fighting with the janitor. They are not just in a disagreement, but they are fighting to death. And when the janitor dies right before his eyes, he passes on his abilities to Harper without any explanation. After a while, Harper finds out that she has to use her abilities to protect David Stark: her least favorite person. But after she gets to know him better, she starts to fall in love with him (not a spoiler) and everything gets even more complicated.

What I liked about the book

There are so many things that I loved about this book that I don’t even know where to start! I think I’ll just start out simple, with the plot. I absolutely loved the plot of this story! It starts out with action in the bathroom at her prom, and the pace keeps up throughout the entire book. Crazy action-packed events in which Harper has to use her abilities and explanation about her abilities and background of why she has to protect David are perfectly in balance. There is not too much slow explanation, and there aren’t too much action scenes either. On top of that, the book is really funny! There were several occasions that I laughed out loud while reading it. Rachel Hawkins has a really easy, fun and quick writing style and this book has made me think about picking up her Hex Hall series as well!

Another aspect of the plot is the love triangle that develops between Harper, her boyfriend Ryan, and David. I have been getting a little sick of love triangles in books, but this one didn’t bother me at all and it was actually a really fun part in the book! I really liked both Ryan and David, although I think that the decision she made in the end was the right one.

I also really liked how Harper stays herself during all these events. She still is the High School queen, president of everything, and best friend of Bee. She only wants to take up on her new responsibilities if she can keep doing the stuff she already did. In some books the friend and family are totally forgotten, but I love how Harper keeps being friends with Bee and how she deals with all the changes in her life. I also really like that her family plays a role in this book. Harper still goes to High School, and regular High School girls do get checked on by their parents. This is what makes this book pretty realistic. Although the magical aspect of this book is of course not realistic, but the way Harper reacts in certain situation and how she interacts with the people around her make this book very real and so much more fun!

What I didn’t like about this book

I am having quite a lot of trouble coming up with something I didn’t like about this book. I always try to be critical of the books that I read and incorporate both sides of my opinion, but with this book it was a little hard. There is one point that I can think of, which is that I didn’t really like the ending since there is so much more to resolve and I just need the second book in the series now. But this actually shows how much I enjoyed this book since I can’t wait to continue this series.

Would I recommend this book?

If you are looking for a light, quick and hilarious book, you should definitely pick up Rebel Belle I started this book in the morning, and later that day at 2 am I had it finished, because it was such a quick-paced and funny book! However, if you are looking for something with a little more depth and something to think about, maybe you should skip this book.

Rating

Quotes

“I picked up the nearest weapon I could lay my hands on: a stapler. I lifted it, going for “menacing.” I admit it lacked a certain elegance, but hey. It was worth a shot. David placed his hand on my arm and pushed it back down.
“What?”
“Just . . . that’s embarrassing for all of us,” he replied.”

“The great thing about best friends is that they know you really well. And the terrible thing about best friends is that they know YOU really well.”

“Oh, don’t worry about it,” I said, trying to sound normal even though all I really wanted to do was run inside the garage and try to lift my dad’s SUV. You know, for scientific purposes.”

One thought on “REVIEW: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

  1. Pingback: WRAP UP: May + June 2014 | She blogs about books

Leave a Reply

