WRAP UP: May + June 2014

Source: weheartit

Source: weheartit

At the end of May and the beginning of June I was so busy with writing essays and taking exams to finish up my first year of college, that I didn’t even have the time to write a short wrap up post. But don’t worry, I will add the books that I’ve read in May to this post as well. I didn’t read that much in both of these months, so this wrap up won’t be too long. I plan on reading a lot more books in July, because I will have a lot more time in July than I had in the past few months. But I won’t be making a TBR anymore, because I found that I just like to pick just whatever I feel like, and not having to keep to a set schedule. But I’m getting ahead of myself, here are the books that I’ve read in May and June!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

Man, it feels like ages ago since I’ve read this book! But it has only been about two months. I did enjoy this book, but there were some parts that I had some problems with. I especially liked the historical aspect of this book, and wasn’t sure about the paranormal aspect. If you want to see more of my thoughts on this book, you can find my review here.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

I loved this book! Despite my busy schedule, I managed to read this book in just two days. I have to admit that I slept a little less than usual during these two days because I just wasn’t able to put it down. I also wrote a review for this book, which can be found here.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Paper Towns by John Green

Paper Towns comes in as a close second, just behind The Fault in our Stars, as my favorite books written by John Green. It made me both laugh and cry, and especially once I was nearing the end I just wasn’t able to put it down. Once again, a full review can be found here. If you have read The Fault in our Stars and liked it, I am sure that you will like this book as well!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

This book is about a girl who dies in a car accident, but after everything goes black she wakes up on the same morning of the accident. So she has to live through the day while she knows what is going to happen. And this doesn’t happen once, but seven times in a row. Each day she has the power to change some things and try to avoid to accident, and every time she sees how her actions influence the people around her. However, the main character is not always very nice. She reminded me of the Plastics in the movie Mean Girls. This book touches upon some serious issues, such as bullying. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars, because I really loved the concept and the idea of this book, but if the writing was a little better it would have been a lot more powerful.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen

This was the second book by Sarah Dessen that I ever read. After having read The Truth About Forever about a year ago, which I loved, my expectations were really high. Maybe a little too high, because I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. One of my main problems was that the main character, Remy, didn’t believe in love at all. And I am a huge fan of love, so I found it really hard to relate to her. I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars. I enjoyed the story, but I just couldn’t relate to Remy.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

This is an amazing story about two people with terrible pasts, and some literal and figurative scars who find themselves attracted to each other, but they are both scared to love. This book was an emotional rollercoaster and I have to admit that there were some tears. I am definitely planning on reading the other books in this series!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


The Selection by Kiera Cass

At the end of May, the largest bookstore in town moved to another building, and when the opened again I just had to take a look. But I should have known that a book-junkie like me couldn’t set one foot into a bookstore without buying something. I was in the mood for something quick and funny, so I decided to pick up The Selection, and I made a great choice because it really was a quick and funny book! I even gave it 5 out of 5 stars, because it was just so much fun to read! And The Elite is already waiting for me at my desk to be read really soon!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Just One Night by Gayle Forman

I wasn’t sure whether I would like this novella or not, because most of the time I have a feeling that novellas are just a means for writers/publishers to make some extra money after the success of a series. But WhittyNovels’ review on Goodreads convinced me: “THIS WAS EVERYTHING I NEEDED AND EVERYTHING I DIDNT KNOW I NEEDED” And I couldn’t say it any other way, because that’s how it is.

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J. K. Rowling

I can finally say that I have read the entire Harry Potter series! And I am so glad that I did, because I loved it. Now I am going to spend the rest of my summer watching the movies. 🙂

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

I loved the writing style of Rachel Hawkins so much in Rebel Belle that I got really curious to her other books. I decided to pick up Hex Hall, and although I didn’t like it as much as Rebel Belle, I still loved it a lot. Hex Hall was written in the same style as Rebel Belle, really fast-paced and funny. And I really didn’t see that plot-twist coming! If you liked Rebel Belle, definitely check this book out as well!

Click to check out the page on Goodreads

Click to check out the page on Goodreads


Where She Went by Gayle Forman

The last book that I finished this month is one that I put down just about half an hour ago. I read If I Stay a few months ago, and I liked it but it didn’t really touch me. But then I saw the movie trailer of If I Stay, and I had tears in my eyes. So I really wanted to pick up the sequel Where She Went. This book touched me a lot more than its prequel, but I think that’s because I could relate to the main character of this book much more than I could to the main character in the first book. I gave this book 4½ stars and I think there will be a review up soon!

Do you want to see a review of any of these books? Please let me know in the comments!
Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

